Australia edges closer to additional Olympic berths
Wednesday, 23 May 2012 09:26

The Australian women's single scull and lightweight men's double scull boats have both progressed from their respective semi-finals on the third morning of the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta in Lucerne, Switzerland.

Kim Crow (VIC) set the tone for another successful night for the Australian Rowing Team with victory in the first semi-final of the women's single scull.

The Victorian, who has won silver medals at the past two world championships in the women's double scull, led from start to finish to cross the line in a time of 7:32.83.

Crow had established a clear water lead through 500m of the race and the remainder of the field could not close the gap as the Victorian led the scullers from Serbia and Ireland through to the final.

Crow requires a top three finish in the final on Wednesday evening to secure Australia a start in the women's single scull at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Tom Gibson (TAS) and Rod Chisholm (NSW) then combined for victory in the lightweight men's double scull semi-finals to also move a step closer to rowing in London.

Gibson and Chisholm had won their heat in convincing style earlier in the week and positioned themselves in second place behind Spain through 500m of the semi-final.

The Beijing Olympians remained in second place at the halfway mark before making their move in the third quarter of the race and pulling away from the field to win a time of 6:33.03.

They progressed through to the final along with Austria and Bulgaria and will row for a top-two finish to book a place in London.

Australia has already qualified 10 boats for London, which they achieved through their performances at the 2011 World Rowing Championships in Bled, Slovenia.

Later tonight (2.20am AEST) the Australian women's eight will aim to become the 11th Australian crew to qualify for the 2012 London Olympic Games when they row from lane 3 in the A Final.

They won their race for lanes on Sunday evening in a time of 6:06.22 and will row against Germany, Ukraine, Belarus and Russia with the top two securing a London berth.